slide1

FR 25.01.2019, 7.30 PM

Romeo und Julia

Choreography by John Cranko
Music by Serge Prokofieff

Gallery
Ab 8 Jahren

The hostile Veronese families Montague and Capulet, the love scene before Romeo's farewell, the death of Juliet – these are the strong motives associated with William Shakespeare's drama. In combination with Sergei Prokofiev's famous ballet music, John Cranko's masterpiece contains the presentiment of future suffering as well as the beauty of an unfulfilled love.

Hardly any other subject has been adapted as often for the dance stage as William Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. One of the most performed adaptations for dance is by John Cranko. His version, which he created for the Stuttgart Ballet in 1962, has gone down in ballet history. And not without reason: John Cranko and his dancers – he is famous for that – have always gone in search of the depiction of true feelings. He did not shun emotions and did everything to write them directly into his choreographies.

There is a free introduction in German for the audience at the performance venue 45 minutes before each performance, except opening nights, guest performances, and special events.

Buy Tickets

Due to technical reasons, the booking of tickets has to be done in the webshop of the Staatsoper Unter den Linden. Please be aware that it is not possible to purchase discounted tickets online. You can buy discounted tickets via our telephone hotline at +49 (0)30 20 60 92 630.

Buy Tickets

slide1

FR 25.01.2019, 19:30 UHR

Romeo und Julia

Choreographie von John Cranko
Musik von Serge Prokofieff

Gallery
Ab 8 Jahren

Die verfeindeten Veroneser Familien Montague und Capulet, die Liebesszene vor Romeos Abschied oder schließlich Julias Tod – das sind die starken Motive, die mit William Shakespeares Drama verbunden sind. Im Zusammenspiel mit Serge Prokofieffs berühmter Ballett-Komposition ist in Crankos Meisterwerk die Vorahnung künftigen Leids genauso enthalten wie die Schönheit einer unerfüllten Liebe.

Kaum ein anderer Stoff ist so häufig für die Tanzbühne umgesetzt worden wie William Shakespeares Romeo und Julia. Eine der meistgespielten Adaptionen für den Tanz stammt von John Cranko. Seine Fassung, die er 1962 für das Stuttgarter Ballett geschaffen hat, ist in die Ballettgeschichte eingegangen. Und das nicht ohne Grund: John Cranko hat sich mit seinen Tänzern – dafür ist er berühmt – stets auf die Suche nach der Darstellung wahrer Gefühle gemacht. Er scheute Emotionen nicht und setzte alles daran, diese direkt in seine Choreographien hineinzuschreiben

45 Minuten vor regulären Vorstellungen erhält das Publikum im jeweiligen Opernhaus eine kostenfreie Werkeinführung.

Ticket kaufen

Die Kartenbuchung erfolgt aus technischen Gründen im Webshop der Staatsoper Unter den Linden. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass Sie online keine Ermäßigungen geltend machen können. Ermäßigte Karten können Sie telefonisch unter +49 (0)30 20 60 92 630 erwerben.

Tickets kaufen