slide1

TU 14.09.2021, 7.00 PM

Ballet for Future? We have to talk!

Panel discussion

Gallery

Free entry, registration via balletforfuture@staatsballett-berlin.de required. Please make sure to follow current corona safety guidelines.

Ballet repertory yesterday, today and tomorrow

What may, what can and what should a ballet company perform today? Are the works of the classical ballet repertoire still up to date? What exactly are the critical contents and how can they be dealt with? How can communication about it be established in the performance? Can questions on this subject , that arise in dance itself also be answered in dance?

What the team of authors describes in their "Rapport sur la diversité à l'Opéra de Paris" from spring 2021, commissioned by the Paris Opera House, is also the focus of this evening's discussion at the Staatsballett Berlin: "Our mission seemed to us not to create space for social issues within an artistic institution, but rather to contribute to the definition of its artistic mission, which includes the desire for openness, better representation of diversity on stage, the questioning of the repertoire and its echo in the contemporary world, and furthermore, the renewal of interpretations and possibilities, as well as exemplary personnel policies as a whole, so that discrimination and racist expressions are banished. "

It is not a matter of answers, but rather the concern is: what are the key questions that need to be asked in order to bring about awareness and, ideally, a significant change in one's own actions and external perceptions? On the topic of "Diversity and Ballet Repertoire," experts will meet at the invitation of Acting Artistic Director Dr. Christiane Theobald at the round table of the Staatsballett Berlin: the multi-voiced panel, chaired by dance journalist Claudia Henne, includes Ingrid Lorentzen (Artistic Director of the Norwegian National Ballet Oslo), dance critic Arnd Wesemann (tanz), Black Pearl De Almeida (freelance dancer), Federico Spallitta (principal dancer, Staatsballett Berlin), and dance scholars Prof. Dr. Gabriele Brandstetter (FU Berlin) and Dr. Mariama Diagne (currently university assistant for gender studies at the University of Performing Arts, Vienna).

w


Further dates

14 September 2021, 7pm
Ballet repertory yesterday, today and tomorrow

4 November 2021, 7pm
Power relationships and discrimination in the culture industry

13 January 2022, 7pm

3 March 2022, 7pm

31 May 2022, 7pm

Buy Tickets

Due to technical reasons, the booking of tickets has to be done in the webshop of the Staatsoper Unter den Linden.

Buy Tickets

add to calendar Add to Calendar Outlook/iCal Google Yahoo TU 14.09.2021, 7.00 PM
Foyer de la danse

(Past event)

90 Minuten ohne Pause

Discussion

slide1

DI 14.09.2021, 19:00 UHR

Ballet for Future? Wir müssen reden!

Gesprächsrunde

Gallery

Der Eintritt ist frei, eine Anmeldung unter balletforfuture@staatsballett-berlin.de ist erforderlich. Für die Veranstaltung gelten die aktuellen Corona-Richtlinien.


Ballett-Repertoire gestern, heute und morgen

Was darf, was kann, was sollte eine Ballett-Compagnie heutzutage aufführen? Sind die Werke des klassischen Ballett-Repertoires noch zeitgemäß? Was genau sind die kritischen Inhalte und wie kann man damit umgehen? Wie kann die Kommunikation darüber im Spielbetrieb hergestellt werden? Können Fragestellungen, die sich im Tanz selbst zu diesem Thema ergeben, auch tänzerisch beantwortet werden?

Was das Autoren-Team in seinem „Rapport sur la diversité à l’Opéra de Paris“ vom Frühjahr 2021 im Auftrag der Pariser Oper beschreibt, steht auch im Mittelpunkt der Diskussion dieses Abends beim Staatsballett Berlin: »Unsere Mission schien uns nicht, Raum für soziale Fragen innerhalb einer künstlerischen Institution zu schaffen, sondern vielmehr einen Beitrag zur Definition ihrer künstlerischen Aufgabe zu leisten, welche den Wunsch nach Öffnung, besserer Repräsentation der Vielfalt auf der Bühne, das Hinterfragen des Repertoires und seines Echos in der zeitgenössischen Welt einschließt und darüber hinaus die Erneuerung von Deutungen und Möglichkeiten sowie eine vorbildliche Personalpolitik insgesamt beinhaltet, sodass Diskriminierung und rassistische Äußerungen verbannt werden.«

Es geht nicht um Antworten, sondern das Anliegen ist vielmehr: Welches sind die zentralen Fragen, die gestellt werden müssen, um ein Bewusstsein und im Idealfall eine deutliche Veränderung im eigenen Tun und in der äußeren Wahrnehmung zu bewirken? Zum Thema „Diversität und Ballett-Repertoire“ treffen sich Expert:innen auf Einladung der kommissarischen Intendantin Dr. Christiane Theobald am Runden Tisch des Staatsballetts Berlin: Zur vielstimmigen Besetzung der Diskussionsrunde, geleitet von der Tanzjournalistin Claudia Henne, gehören Ingrid Lorentzen (Künstlerische Leiterin des Norwegischen Nationalballetts Oslo) , der Tanzkritiker Arnd Wesemann (tanz), Black Pearl De Almeida (freiberufliche Tänzerin), Federico Spallitta (Solotänzer Staatsballett Berlin), und die Tanzwissenschaftlerinnen Prof. Dr. Gabriele Brandstetter (FU Berlin) und Dr. Mariama Diagne (derzeit Universitätsassistentin für Gender Studies an der Universität für Darstellende Kunst Wien).


Weitere Termine

4. November 2021, 19 Uhr
Macht und Diskriminierung im Kulturbetrieb

13. Januar 2022, 19 Uhr

3. März 2022, 19 Uhr

31. Mai 2022, 19 Uhr


Ticket kaufen

Die Kartenbuchung erfolgt aus technischen Gründen im Webshop der Staatsoper Unter den Linden.

Tickets kaufen

add to calendar Add to Calendar Outlook/iCal Google Yahoo DI 14.09.2021, 19:00 UHR
Foyer de la danse

(Vergangener Termin)

90 Minuten ohne Pause

Diskussion