Dancing on the river Spree

 

Berlin, June 4, 2021 --- In addition to indoor performances with limited seating capacity, the Staatsballett Berlin charters a boat, conquering the inner-city Spree on June 10.

After having been separated from its audience for a long time, the Staatsballett Berlin charters a boat and cruises the Spree river on June 10, 6 p.m., dancing for everyone on the riverbanks – no tickets, tests or anything else needed. En route, between the Hansabrücke and the Mühlendammschleuse, the company presents selected excerpts from the repertoire.

While the boat is constantly moving, the specifically adapted programme will be repeated multiple times. Spectators will be treated to Johnny McMillan's PARLIAMENT, Arshak Ghalumyan's MARE CRISIUM, Mauro Bigonzetti's DUETTO INOFFENSIVO as well as excerpts from SWAN LAKE and Sharon Eyal's HALF LIFE with the latter surely mesmerizing audiences with its hypnotic techno score. On top, Ksenia Ovsyanick's improvised online choreography FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE will be staged, making a reference to the ensemble's hopeful video message from spring 2020.

Dr. Christiane Theobald, the Staatsballett Berlin's provisional artistic director, is very much looking forward to this extraordinary performance:

“We absolutely missed our audience and the freedom of movement. Of course, we're more than eager to dance for as many people in the city as possible and bring ballet to everyone beyond our three indoor performances with limited seat capacity.”

Please, be aware that current corona regulations in public spaces need to be taken into account. Along the riverbanks, spectators will be able to see the slowly moving boat and experience the Staatsballett Berlin's performance.

 

FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE on the Spree
The Staatsballett Berlin Boat Tour

Date: June 10, 2021, 6 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.
Route: Hansabrücke – Mühlendammschleuse – Hansabrücke
Free event.

Schedule (rough estimate) Schedule (rough estimate)

Das Staatsballett tanzt auf der Spree

 

Berlin, 04. Juni 2021 --- Während erste Vorstellungen vor reduziertem Publikum im Opernhaus stattfinden, erobert das Staatsballett Berlin zusätzlich die Spree und tanzt am 10. Juni auf einem Ausflugsschiff auf einer Tour durch die Innenstadt.  

Nach der langen Trennung vom Publikum unternimmt das Staatsballett Berlin am 10. Juni 2021 ab 18.00 Uhr eine Schiffstour und tanzt auf einem Ausflugsschiff für alle Zuschauer*innen am Ufer, ohne Tickets, Tests oder andere Voraussetzungen. Auf der Route, die an der Hansabrücke startet, bis zur Mühlendammschleuse und wieder zurückführt, werden ausgewählte Auszüge aus dem Repertoire gezeigt.

Das Schiff bleibt in stetiger, langsamer Bewegung während das Programm – für diesen Zweck adaptiert und eingerichtet – in zyklischer Wiederholung gezeigt wird. Zu sehen sein werden Johnny MacMillans PARLIAMENT, Arshak Ghalumyans MARE CRISIUM, Mauro Bigonzettis DUETTO INOFFENSIVO sowie Auszüge aus SCHWANENSEE und Sharon Eyals HALF LIFE, das nicht zuletzt wegen seiner hypnotischen Musik eine besondere Wirkung entfalten wird. Auch wird als Improvisation die Online-Choreographie FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE von Ksenia Ovsyanick aufgeführt, das Zitat der zuversichtlichen Video-Botschaft des Ensembles aus dem Frühjahr 2020.

Dr. Christiane Theobald, kommissarische Intendantin des Staatsballetts Berlin freut sich auf diese besondere Vorstellung:

„Wir haben unser Publikum und die Bewegungsfreiheit sehr vermisst und möchten nun über die begrenzten Plätze bei unseren drei Bühnenvorstellungen hinaus in die Stadt hineintanzen, um noch mehr Menschen zu erreichen und Ballett für jeden erlebbar zu machen.“

Die aktuellen Corona-Sicherheitsregeln für den öffentlichen Raum sind weiterhin zu beachten. Entlang der Route können die Zuschauer*innen das sich langsam bewegende Schiff vom Ufer aus erleben.

 

FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE auf der Spree
Das Staatsballett Berlin auf Schiffstour

Datum: 10. Juni 2021, 18.00 bis 20.30 Uhr
Route: Hansabrücke – Mühlendammschleuse – Hansabrücke
Kein Ticketkauf nötig.

Zeitplan (grobe Schätzung) Zeitplan (grobe Schätzung)