FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE

STAATSBALLETT GALA STREAM

We have reached the end of a more than unusual 19/20 season. However, we have a surprise for all dance enthusiasts out there. On Friday, July 3, 7pm CET, we'll stream FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE via YouTube!

Aurora Dickie, Iana Salenko and Polina Semionova, as well as Dinu Tamazlacaru, Daniil Simkin and Marian Walter will give a taste of the galas FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE I+II at the Deutsche Oper Berlin and the Staatsoper Unter den Linden in August and September 2020. In addition to solos and pas de deux from the repertoire works SWAN LAKE and JEWELS, choreographies by Mauro Bigonzetti and Mauro de Candia will be performed. They'll be accompanied in parts by Donald Runnicles, General Music Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, and Alina Pronina on piano and Elisabeth Heise-Glass on violin.

As a taste of the Staatsballett's first new production, LAB_WORKS COVID_19 with choreographies by dancers of the company, Ross Martinson showcases one of his choreographies and Ksenia Ovsyanick and Johnny McMillan present an improvised work.

The footage shot at the Deutsche Oper Berlin shows a change of perspective: behind the dancers on stage, the empty auditorium becomes an impressive backdrop, not only accentuating the beauty of the choreography but also the painful absence of the audience.

FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE will be available on 3 July 2020, 7pm CET via our YouTube channel.

FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE

STAATSBALLETT GALA IM STREAM

Zum Ende der mehr als ungewöhnlichen Spielzeit 19/20 haben wir noch eine Überraschung für alle Tanzliebhaber*innen parat. Am Freitag, 3. Juli streamen wir ab 19:00 Uhr auf unserem YouTube-Kanal die digitale Gala FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE!

Aurora Dickie, Iana Salenko und Polina Semionova sowie Daniil Simkin, Dinu Tamazlacaru und Marian Walter geben damit einen Ausblick auf die Gala-Programme FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE I+II in der Deutschen Oper Berlin und der Staatsoper Unter den Linden im August und September 2020. Neben Soli und Pas de deux aus den Repertoire-Werken SCHWANENSEE und JEWELS werden auch Choreographien von Mauro Bigonzetti und Mauro de Candia interpretiert. Teilweise begleitet werden sie dabei von Donald Runnicles, Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin, und Alina Pronina am Klavier sowie Elisabeth Heise-Glass an der Violine.

Als Vorgeschmack auf die erste Neuproduktion des Staatsballetts, LAB_WORKS COVID_19 mit Choreographien von Tänzern der Compagnie, zeigt Ross Martinson ein von ihm entwickeltes Solo, Ksenia Ovsyanick und Johnny McMillan präsentieren eine Improvisation.

Die Filmaufnahmen aus der Deutschen Oper Berlin zeigen dabei einen Perspektivwechsel: hinter den Tänzern, die auf der Bühne agieren, erstreckt sich der imposante Zuschauerraum mit leerem Parkett und Rängen, so dass nicht nur die Schönheit der Choreographie, sondern auch das Fehlen der Zuschauer schmerzlich deutlich wird.

FROM BERLIN WITH LOVE ist ab 3. Juli 2020, 19:00 Uhr auf YouTube verfügbar.