Digital stage 2021

Distant Matter, Photo: Jubal Battisti Distant Matter, Photo: Jubal Battisti
 

Berlin, 31 March 2021 --- Despite currently closed theatres, audiences will now be able to experience the Staatsballett Berlin via a variety of streams starting 1 April 2021.

Starting this Easter weekend, we presents repertory highlights from classical to contemporary on its digital stage. Streaming once or twice a week, all productions – SWAN LAKE by Patrice Bart, CARAVAGGIO by Mauro Bigonzetti, STRONG and HALF LIFE by Sharon Eyal and DISTANT MATTER by Anouk van Dijk – are free of charge and will be available for 24 hours via the Staatsballett's website. Should Berlin's opera houses open their doors again before the end of the season, the digital stage will certainly not close its curtain.

SWAN LAKE has been part of the the Staatsballett Berlin's repertory since 1997 and is its longest-running production. The 1998 recording offers viewers the opportunity to experience former ballet stars Steffi Scherzer and Oliver Matz accompanied by the Staatskapelle Berlin conducted by Daniel Barenboim.

Audiences were thrilled when Mauro Bigonzetti created CARAVAGGIO for the Staatsballett Berlin ensemble in 2008. In a mysterious world of light and shadow, Vladimir Malakhov embodies the Italian early-Baroque painter, sharing the stage with Polina Semionova, Beatrice Knop and Shoko Nakamura amongst others.

In recent years, Sharon Eyal has conquered stages worldwide with her unmistakable artistic style. With HALF LIFE, she certainly thrilled Berlin audiences and critics in 2018, presenting a »techno ballet« which centres around the individual in relation to complex group dynamics. She followed up on her success with STRONG, a creation for the company, in 2019.

In 2019, Anouk van Dijk developed a creation together with the Staatsballett Berlin dancers in 2019. DISTANT MATTER gave them the exciting opportunity to engage with her very own movement technique, referred to as the »Countertechnique«. Bringing movements back into balance with the help of counter movements is a concept which opens up unusual perspectives and features impressively in her works.

 

DIGITAL CALENDAR April - June 2021

Repertory
CARAVAGGIO
Dance piece by Mauro Bigonzetti
Music by Bruno Moretti after Claudio Monteverdi

Recorded in December 2008

Stream available at 6 pm for 24 hours
1 April 2021
7 | 25 May 2021
11 June 2021

+++

Repertory
STRONG
Dance piece by Sharon Eyal
Music by Ori Lichtik

Recorded on 8 December 2019

Stream available at 6 pm for 24 hours
9 April 2021
11 | 28 May 2021
15 June 2021

+++

Repertory
SWAN LAKE
Choreography by Patrice Bart after Ivanov and Petipa
Music by Peter I. Tchaikovsky

Recorded on 16 January 1998

Stream available at 6 pm for 24 hours
16 April 2021
14 May 2021
1 | 18 June 2021

+++

Repertory
DISTANT MATTER
Dance piece by Anouk van Dijk
Music by Jethro Woodward

Recorded on 1 June 2019

Stream available at 6 pm for 24 hours
23 April 2021
18 May 2021
4 | 22 June 2021

+++

Repertory
HALF LIFE
Dance piece by Sharon Eyal
Music by Ori Lichtik

Recorded on 1 June 2019

Stream available at 6 pm for 24 hours
30 April 2021
21 May 2021
8 | 25 June 2021

Digitaler Spielplan 2021

Distant Matter, Foto: Jubal Battisti Distant Matter, Foto: Jubal Battisti
 

Berlin, 31. März 2021 --- Trotz geschlossener Bühnen können Sie ab 01. April 2021 ein abwechslungsreiches, kostenfreies Streaming-Programm des Staatsballetts Berlin erleben.

Wir präsentieren ab dem kommenden Osterwochenende einen digitalen Spielplan mit Höhepunkten des Repertoires von klassisch bis zeitgenössisch. Das wechselnde Programm kann ein bis zwei Mal pro Woche für jeweils 24 Stunden als Video on demand über die Internetseite des Staatsballetts kostenfrei gestreamt werden. Jeweils vier Mal werden dadurch die Produktionen SCHWANENSEE von Patrice Bart, CARAVAGGIO von Mauro Bigonzetti, STRONG und HALF LIFE von Sharon Eyal sowie DISTANT MATTER von Anouk van Dijk zu sehen sein. Der digitale Spielplan wird auch im Falle einer Öffnung der Opernbühnen weitergeführt.

SCHWANENSEE ist die am längsten gespielte Produktion des Staatsballetts Berlin und wird seit 1997 aufgeführt. Die Aufnahme von 1998 – also noch zu Zeiten des Balletts der Staatsoper Unter den Linden – bietet die Gelegenheit, das ehemalige Startänzer-Paar Steffi Scherzer und Oliver Matz zu erleben, begleitet von der Staatskapelle Berlin, dirigiert von Daniel Barenboim.

CARAVAGGIO wurde 2008 von Mauro Bigonzetti für das Staatsballett Berlin kreiert und begeisterte das Publikum. Vladimir Malakhov verkörpert den italienischen Maler des Frühbarocks in einer geheimnisvollen Welt aus Licht und Schatten, begleitet u.a. von Polina Semionova, Beatrice Knop und Shoko Nakamura.

Sharon Eyal eroberte in den letzten Jahren weltweit die Bühnen mit ihrer unverwechselbaren künstlerischen Handschrift. Mit HALF LIFE begeisterte sie 2018 auch das Berliner Publikum und Kritiker und präsentierte ein »Techno-Ballett«, das das Verhältnis von Individuum und Gruppe umkreist. Mit STRONG knüpfte sie 2019 an diesen Erfolg an in einer Kreation für das Staatsballett Berlin.

Mit DISTANT MATTER erarbeitete Anouk van Dijk 2019 eine Kreation mit den Tänzer*innen des Staatsballetts und gab ihnen die Möglichkeit, sich mit ihrer Bewegungsmethode, der »Countertechnique«, zu beschäftigen, die jede Bewegung mit einer Gegenbewegung in Balance bringt und so ungewohnte Perspektiven eröffnet.

 

DIGITALER KALENDER April bis Juni 2021

Repertoire
CARAVAGGIO
Tanzstück von Mauro Bigonzetti
Musik von Bruno Moretti nach Claudio Monteverdi

Aufzeichnung Dezember 2008

Im Stream ab 18:00 Uhr für 24 Stunden
1. April 2021
7. | 25. Mai 2021
11. Juni 2021

+++

Repertoire
STRONG
Tanzstück von Sharon Eyal
Musik von Ori Lichtik

Aufzeichnung 8. Dezember 2019

Im Stream ab 18:00 Uhr für 24 Stunden
9. April 2021
11. | 28. Mai 2021
15. Juni 2021

+++

Repertoire
SCHWANENSEE
Choreographie von Patrice Bart nach Iwanow und Petipa
Musik von Peter I. Tschaikowsky

Aufzeichnung 16. Januar 1998

Im Stream ab 18:00 Uhr für 24 Stunden
16. April 2021
14. Mai 2021
1. | 18. Juni 2021

+++

Repertoire
DISTANT MATTER
Tanzstück von Anouk van Dijk
Musik von Jethro Woodward

Aufzeichnung 1. Juni 2019

Im Stream ab 18:00 Uhr für 24 Stunden
23. April 2021
18. Mai 2021
4. | 22. Juni 2021

+++

Repertoire
HALF LIFE
Tanzstück von Sharon Eyal
Musik von Ori Lichtik

Aufzeichnung 1. Juni 2019

Im Stream ab 18:00 Uhr für 24 Stunden
30. April 2021
21. Mai 2021
8. | 25. Juni 2021