David Dawson started working on his first creation for the Staatsballett Berlin

Photo: Yan Revazov Photo: Yan Revazov

Renowned choreographer David Dawson is currently developing a creation with the dancers of the Staatsballett Berlin that will premiere at the Deutsche Oper Berlin in November 2021.

Despite limited rehearsals due to the current pandemic, the Staatballett Berlin made it possible for internationally renowned choreographer David Dawson to create his first piece for the company on loctaion. As part of an extraordinary rehearsal process, he finds himself working with a permanent group of fourteen dancers, devoting himself exclusively to this production after almost a year in lockdown.

"This creation is special: it is not only about creating but also about nurturing, encouraging, teaching and inspiring in this extraordinary time. And it’s about human beings – it aims to reveal the universal human qualities both of the performers and the audience“, says David Dawson.

The musical foundation is Max Richter's 2020 composition VOICES.  The musician spent several years studying  the 1948 United Nations Declaration of Human Rights, giving polyphonic expression to its opening words.

The world premiere in November 2021 will be accompanied by another one of David Dawson's works. With the 2017 solo piece CITITZEN NOWHERE, he explores the feeling of being lost during a time in our world history when the “lonely modern predicaments of statelessness and extended refugee status seem to diminish the opportunities for so many, but never the humanity of those who live out their existence within them.”Inspired by »The Little Prince«, this solo work gives physicality to the philosophy of Antoine de Saint-Exupery.

David Dawson is one of the most internationally sought-after choreographers on the current dance circuit. He is a permanent artistic member of the Dutch National Ballet and works as house choreographer of the Semperoper Ballet and the Royal Ballet of Flanders. His ballets have been performed in over 25 countries and have been honoured with numerous awards and nominations, including the Prix Benois de la Danse for Best Choreographer (2002) and the Golden Mask (2005).


DAWSON
Choreographies by David Dawson

Berlin Premiere
CITITZEN NOWHERE
Choreography by David Dawson (2017)
Music by Szymon Brzóska (2017)

Choreography and Concept: David Dawson
Stage Design: Eno Henze
Costumes: Yumiko Takeshima
Light: Bert Dalhuysen
Film: Altin Kaftira
Rehearsals: Rebecca Gladstone, Raphael Coumes-Marquet

World Premiere
VOICES [Working title]
Choreography by David Dawson (2021)
Music by Max Richter „Voices“ (2020)

Choreography & concept: David Dawson
Stage Desingn: Eno Henze
Costumes: Yumiko Takeshima
Light: Bert Dalhuysen
Assistent of the choreographer: Raphael Coumes-Marquet, Rebecca Gladstone

Premiere in November 2021 at the Deutsche Oper Berlin

David Dawson kreiert für das Staatsballett Berlin

Der renommierte Choreograph David Dawson entwickelt derzeit erstmals mit den Tänzer*innen des Staatsballetts Berlin eine Kreation, die im November 2021 in der Deutschen Oper Berlin Premiere feiern wird.

Trotz eingeschränkten Probenbetriebs aufgrund der aktuellen Pandemie-Situation ist es dem Staatsballett Berlin möglich, den international tätigen Choreographen David Dawson erstmals für die Erarbeitung einer Kreation vor Ort zu haben. In einem außergewöhnlichen Probenprozess findet er mit einer festen Gruppe von vierzehn Tänzer*innen zusammen, um sich nach fast einem Jahr im Lockdown ausschließlich dieser Produktion zu widmen.

„Diese Kreation ist etwas besonderes: es geht nicht nur um die Entstehung einer neuen Choreographie, sondern auch darum, künstlerische Nahrung zu geben, zu ermutigen, zu lehren und zu inspirieren in dieser außergewöhnlichen Zeit. Und es ist der Versuch, das Menschsein an sich aufzuzeigen, seine universelle Qualität für die Tänzer*innen ebenso wie für das Publikum“, so David Dawson.

Die musikalische Grundlage bildet Max Richters Komposition VOICES von 2020. Der Musiker beschäftigte sich mehrere Jahre lang mit der Erklärung der Menschenrechte der Vereinten Nationen von 1948, und gab dem Wortlaut der ersten Artikel dieser Resolution vielstimmigen Ausdruck.

Die Uraufführung im November 2021 wird begleitet von einer weiteren Arbeit David Dawsons. Das Solostück CITITZEN NOWHERE von 2017 beschäftigt sich mit dem Gefühl der Verlorenheit des Individuums in einer Zeit der Weltgeschichte, in der Menschen, vollkommen einsam, in »eine moderne Zwangslage geraten, sobald sie, vielleicht auf der Flucht, mit dem Status der Staatenlosigkeit ihre tatsächliche Existenz infrage gestellt sehen.« Inspiriert von »Der kleine Prinz« verleiht dieses Solostück der Philosophie von Antoine de Saint-Exupéry körperlichen Ausdruck.

David Dawson zählt zu den international gefragtesten Choreographen der aktuellen Tanzszene. Er ist festes künstlerisches Mitglied des Niederländischen Nationalballetts und arbeitet als Hauschoreograph des Semperoper Balletts und des Königlichen Balletts Flandern. Seine Ballette wurden in über 25 Ländern aufgeführt und mit zahlreichen Preisen und Nominierungen geehrt, u.a. mit dem Prix Benois de la Danse als bester Choreograph (2002) und der Goldenen Maske (2005).


DAWSON
Choreographien von David Dawson

Berliner Erstaufführung
CITITZEN NOWHERE
Choreographie von David Dawson (2017)
Musik von Szymon Brzóska (2017)

Choreographie und Konzept: David Dawson
Bühnenbild: Eno Henze
Kostümbild: Yumiko Takeshima
Licht: Bert Dalhuysen
Film: Altin Kaftira
Einstudierung: Rebecca Gladstone, Raphael Coumes-Marquet

Uraufführung
VOICES [Arbeitstitel]
Choreographie von David Dawson (2021)
Musik von Max Richter „Voices“ (2020)

Choreographie & Konzept: David Dawson
Bühnenbild: Eno Henze
Kostüme: Yumiko Takeshima
Licht: Bert Dalhuysen
Assistenten des Choreographen: Raphael Coumes-Marquet, Rebecca Gladstone

Premiere im November 2021 in der Deutschen Oper Berlin