With/out Tutu
Choreographies by William Forsythe, Jodie Gates and Clark Tippet
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
The modern triple bill WITH/OUT TUTU plays with the conventions of classical dance, utilizing and dismissing at the same time one of its principal attributes: the tutu.

Of the three choreographers, the best known in Germany is William Forsythe. His VERTIGINOUS THRILL OF EXACTITUDE, produced in1996, explores the allure and excitement of the neoclassical style.

With his elegant and passionate BRUCH VIOLIN CONCERTO NO. 1, Clark Tippet, too, based his choreography on a classical background.

The American choreographer Jodie Gates gained her own experience in several companies, among others with William Forsythe and as a principal dancer with the Joffrey Ballet. COURTING THE INVISIBLE, created for the Staatsballett Berlin, is her first choreography in Germany.

The Vertiginous Thrill of Exactitude

Choreographie von William Forsythe Musik von Franz Schubert

Choreography: William Forsythe
Music: Franz Schubert

Elena Pris
Sebnem Gülseker
Polina Semionova
Mikhail Kaniskin
Dinu Tamazlacaru

Courting the Invisible

Choreographie von Jodie Gates Musik von Fanny Hensel-Mendelssohn und Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Choreography: Jodie Gates
Music: Fanny Hensel-Mendelssohn, Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Stage: Michael Korsch

Nadja Saidakova
Michael Banzhaf
Elisa Carrillo Cabrera
Martin Buczkó
Nanami Terai
Leonard Jakovina

Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1

Choreographie von Clark Tippet Musik von Max Bruch

Choreography: Clark Tippet
Costumes: nach Dain Marcus
Lightdesign: Jennifer Tipton
Assistance: David Richardson

Beatrice Knop
Dmitry Semionov
Elisa Carrillo Cabrera
Leonard Jakovina
Ludmila Konovalova
Ibrahim Önal
Stephanie Greenwald
Martin Buczkó
for the last time this season
Thursday, 08.04.2010
19.30 h
9 - 42 €

Further Events:
17 | 19 March 2010
06 | 08 April 2010

Conductor: Vello Pähn
Staatskapelle Berlin
Solisten und Corps de ballet des Staatsballetts Berlin

1:40 h | 1 intermission