Das flammende Herz
Ballet by Patrice Bart
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/5/9/5/5/4/ec_59554cbcbe82fb1d9cc8417d3ab48235.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/c/f/7/f/c/ec_cf7fc29613daf940de18695028c29033.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/5/4/1/9/c/ec_5419c210b19c07d427681a5aa55c54c2.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/7/c/d/9/b/ec_7cd9b36cd79a052628239c1b6ef1b527.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/2/4/8/a/a/ec_248aaa73608363c1f84f7bb51dba641f.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
Throughout his life, Percy Shelley (1792 – 1822) maintained a special principle of love. Rebelling overtly against the moral conventions of his contemporaries, he lived in different cohabitations with various women and spread his revolutionary ideas through his tough-minded political commitment. When he had been finally slandered in his English home country, Percy Shelley travelled throughout the continent, restlessly and without income. With his beauty and his poetic talent, he fascinated women, as well as men and cultivated a heartfelt friendship with Lord Byron.

The French choreographer Patrice Bart approaches Percy Shelley’s diverse life with a feature-length choreography which he developed for the Staatsballett Berlin. His episodically arranged ballet deals with the central motives of the life of the ingenious young man. This focuses on the fate of his desperate search for love, the numerous female characters and the conflict with Byron. Shelley's angel-like features, that Lord Byron saw in his friend, can be easily translated into a language of dance, which is ideally suited to the passionate and poetic dancer Vladimir Malakhov.

A modern stage setting has been created by Ezio Toffolutti and ravishing costumes designed by Luisa Spinatelli. The music for DAS FLAMMENDE HERZ is based on compositions from Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy reassembled by the highly acclaimed conductor Ermanno Florio.
Storyline
PROLOGUE
England in the early 19th century

After the death of the English poet Percy Shelley the ladies Mary, Jane and Claire are talking about him and indulging in memories of the times shared together.

ACT ONE
Scene 1
At a garden party in the noble castle of the Shelley family the young Percy Shelley falls in love with Harriet Grove, his cousin. She wakens his heart for love and is becoming his first big love.

Scene 2
Percy Shelley is a student at Oxford University. With his close friend Jefferson Hogg he is enjoys the freedom of a student’s life. The young men are cultivating discussions and traditions of fraternity. Together with Hogg, Shelley writes and publishes the heretical treatise about the “Necessity of Atheism”, which causes his and Hogg’s rustication. – Shelley is already guided by ‘The destiny’.

Scene 3
Shelley is meets Harriet Westbrook, the beautiful daughter of a coffeehouse keeper. Overwhelmed by her beauty he flees with her leaving all his respectable roots behind him. He marries her, his second big love, yet his hope for an independent life with Harriet is not fulfilled: Harriet’s sister Eliza is living with the couple and stands always between them. Finally, Shelley tries to escape from this situation and is absent very often. In the meantime, his old friend Hogg is taking care of the sisters while being strongly attracted to Harriet. Finally Harriet is left behind all alone. She will become ‘The destiny’ by which Shelley will be haunted throughout his life.

Scene 4
Percy Shelley enters the house and world of William Godwin, a convinced atheist and political writer. In this intellectual surrounding Shelley meets Fanny, Claire und finally Mary Wollstonecraft. The three women are enchanted by his charms, but only Mary impresses the young man with her intelligence, beauty and knowledge. She becomes his third love.
Together with Mary Wollstonecraft and her stepsister Claire, Percy Shelley sets off into a new life. His wife Harriet deeply suffering from that cannot stand it any more and commits suicide.
After Harriet’s death Percy Shelley marries his muse Mary Wollstonecraft. Important literary works are created.

Scene 5
Shelley had chosen Mary from among the Godwin sisters. But her stepsister Claire is still dreaming about loving a poet. Percy Shelley is in close touch with Lord Byron, whom he admires for his poetry and with whom he shares the passion for sailing.
After a visit to a theatre, Lord Byron is surrounded by his mostly female admirers, where Claire finally meets the eccentric and famous poet. Eventually, they fall in love.

INTERMISSION

ACT TWO
Italy

Scene 6
During a roaring masquerade ball hosted by Lord Byron in Venice, Claire and Lord Byron are separating again, because Byron pays too much attention to his former mistress Teresa Guiccioli. Mary and Percy Shelley are watching the ill mooded scenery. They are glad not to be part of that society and to belong to each other. But as Shelleys recognizes Claire’s sorrows and consoles her.

Scene 7
Percy and Mary Shelley have settled in La Spezia, near the coast of the Mediterranean Sea. They enjoy the narrow circle of close friends and a calm life.
Lord Byron is living nearby together with Teresa Guiccioli. Shelley’s neighbours are Sir Edward Williams, a fanatic sailor like Byron and Shelley, and his wife Jane. With her ethereal appearance she inspires Shelley to new poems and reflections, while their relationship becomes more and more intense: Jane becomes the fourth muse of Percy Shelley.
Deeply suffering, Mary Shelley sublimates her feelings in her world famous book “Frankenstein”. In this novel all her anxieties, nightmares and phantasies find expression in the creation of a monster.
In a dream sequence, Shelley expresses his despair being tied emotionally by his beloved muses.

Scene 8
All the friends have moved into a house near the Gulf of La Spezia. Percy Shelley, Edward Williams and Lord Byron often go on sailing trips. Tensions between the ladies are arising.

Scene 9
Percy Shelley and Edward Williams went on a sailing trip, ignoring an appoaching thunderstorm. In a Pas de deux with Shelley, ‘The destiny’ announces that his near death. Then the message is delivered, that Shelley’s sailing boat was found on the seashore. A short time after, Shelley’s body is washed ashore and found.

EPILOGUE

Scene 10
According to old customs, dead bodies found by the seashore are to be cremated on a funeral pyre directly there. It is done with Shelley’s while mourning ladies, Lord Byron and people from the village join the ritual. But the heart of Percy Shelley does not burn and, eventually, the ‘destiny’ is carrying it away ... Now ‘The destiny’ has fulfilled itself.

Monday, 22.06.2009
19.30 h
6 - 53 €

Further Events:
20 | 22 | 25 | 28 June 2009
02 July 2009


Choreography and Staging: Patrice Bart
Music: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Musical Preparation: Ermanno Florio
Sets: Ezio Toffolutti
Costumes: Luisa Spinatelli
Libretto | Dramaturg: Dr. Christiane Theobald
Assistant to the choreographer: Claude de Vulpian
Light: Ezio Toffolutti
Light: Diego Leetz
Assistant to the set designer: Annamaria Cattaneo
Solisten und Corps de ballet des Staatsballetts Berlin
Staatskapelle Berlin

Conductor: Ermanno Florio
Percy ShelleyVladimir Malakhov
Mary WollstonecraftPolina Semionova
Harriet WestbrookNadja Saidakova
Harriet GroveIana Salenko
Jefferson HoggDinu Tamazlacaru
Claire ClairmontBeatrice Knop
Lord ByronMartin Buczkó
Teresa GuiccioliElisa Carrillo Cabrera
Jane WilliamsElena Pris

2:40 h | 1 intermission

Das flammende Herz
Ballett von Patrice Bart
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/5/9/5/5/4/ec_59554cbcbe82fb1d9cc8417d3ab48235.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/c/f/7/f/c/ec_cf7fc29613daf940de18695028c29033.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/5/4/1/9/c/ec_5419c210b19c07d427681a5aa55c54c2.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/7/c/d/9/b/ec_7cd9b36cd79a052628239c1b6ef1b527.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/2/4/8/a/a/ec_248aaa73608363c1f84f7bb51dba641f.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
Enrico Nawrath | Foto: Enrico Nawrath
Zeitlebens formulierte Percy Shelley (1792—1822) das Prinzip der Liebe: In offener Rebellion gegen die Moralvorstellungen seiner Zeitgenossen lebte er in wechselnden Lebensgemeinschaften mit mehreren Frauen, engagierte sich kompromisslos mit revolutionären Ideen in der Politik und bereiste schließlich rastlos und ohne Einkünfte den Kontinent, als man ihn in der englischen Heimat endgültig verteufelt hatte. Mit seiner Schönheit und seiner dichterischen Begabung faszinierte er Frauen wie Männer gleichermaßen und pflegte eine verzehrende Freundschaft zu Lord Byron.

Der französische Choreograph Patrice Bart nähert sich dem facettenreichen Dichterleben Percy Shelleys nun mit einer abendfüllenden Choreographie, die er für das Staatsballett Berlin entwickelt. In Episoden kreist sein Ballett um die zentralen Lebensmotive des genialen jungen Mannes, dabei stehen sein Verhängnis der verzweifelten Suche nach Liebe, die zahlreichen Frauenfiguren und der Konflikt mit Byron im Zentrum des Interesses. Die engelsgleichen Züge, die Lord Byron an seinem Freund beschrieb, lassen sich ideal in die Tanzsprache übersetzen, wie sie ein so leidenschaftlicher und poetischer Tänzer wie Vladimir Malakhov beherrscht.

Ein modernes Bühnenbild wird Ezio Toffolutti gestalten, prachtvolle historische Kostüme entwirft Luisa Spinatelli. Musikalisch beruht DAS FLAMMENDE HERZ auf Kompositionen von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, die zusammengestellt wurden von Ermanno Florio, ein Dirigent, der sich im internationalen Konzert-, Ballett- und Opernbetrieb gleichermaßen einen Namen gemacht hat.
Handlung
PROLOG
England im frühen 19. Jahrhundert
Nach dem tragischen Tod des englischen Dichters Percy Shelley schwelgen Mary, Jane und Claire in Erinnerungen. Die Stimmung ist etwas angespannt, da Jane für sich in Anspruch nimmt, die letzte Liebe des romantischen Dichters gewesen zu sein. Seine Witwe Mary Shelley, Autorin des Romans „Frankenstein“, hört das nicht gern.

ERSTER AKT
Rückblick

Erste Szene
Im herrschaftlichen Hause der Familie Shelley feiert die junge Generation ausgelassen. Elizabeth Shelley und ihr Bruder Percy vergnügen sich. Der junge und sensible Adelige Percy Shelley verliebt sich in seine Cousine Harriet Grove. Sie erweckt in ihm die Liebe und ist seine erste Muse.

Zweite Szene
Percy Shelley studiert an der Oxford University. Mit seinem Studienfreund Jefferson Hogg genießt er die Freiheit des Studentenlebens. Seine ethischen Grundsätze verwirklicht er in Bruderschaften und Debattierklubs. Als er die Schrift „Die Notwendigkeit des Atheismus” publiziert, worin er von Jefferson Hogg unterstützt wird, geraten beide mit der Universitäts-Autorität in Konflikt und werden exmatrikuliert. – Ihn leitet bereits das ‚Schicksal‘.

Dritte Szene
Percy Shelley trifft auf Harriet Westbrook, die schöne Tochter eines Caféhausbesitzers. Von ihrer Schönheit überwältigt, flieht er mit ihr und lässt alle bürgerlichen Wurzeln hinter sich. Er heiratet seine zweite große Liebe. Seine Hoffnung, nun ein eigenständiges Leben mit Harriet führen zu können, wird allerdings dadurch getrübt, dass Eliza, die Schwester Harriets, mit ihnen lebt und schlussendlich zwischen ihm und Harriet steht. Und nicht nur das: während der langen Abwesenheiten Shelleys – er flieht aus der Enge dieser Ehe – nutzt dessen Freund Hogg die Gelegenheit, seine Beziehung zu Harriet zu intensivieren. Seine Ehefrau Harriet bleibt allein zurück.
Harriet wird zum ‘Schicksal’ werden und begleitet Shelley durch sein weiteres Leben.

Vierte Szene
Percy Shelley begegnet endlich seinem großen literarischen Vorbild, William Godwin, überzeugter Atheist und Autor politischer Schriften. In dessen intellektuell geprägtem Hause lernt er Fanny und Claire und schließlich Mary Wollstonecraft kennen. Alle drei verfallen dem Charme der Künstlerpersönlichkeit, aber nur Mary beeindruckt ihn so sehr mit ihrer Intelligenz, Schönheit und Bildung, dass sie die dritte Liebe von Percy Shelley wird.
Shelley bricht mit Mary Wollstonecraft, begleitet von deren Stiefschwester Claire, in ein neues Leben auf.
Seine Ehefrau Harriet kann dies nicht mehr ertragen und begeht Selbstmord.
Nach dem Tode seiner Frau Harriet heiratet Percy Shelley seine Muse Mary Wollstonecraft. Wichtige literarische Werke entstehen.

Fünfte Szene
Shelley hatte sich unter den Töchtern im Hause Godwin für Mary entschieden. Ihre Stieschwester Claire – von Percy Shelley nicht erhört – ist nach wie vor auf der Suche nach einem Dichterfreund.
Percy Shelley ist gut bekannt mit Lord Byron. Er bewundert diesen für seine Poesie und teilt mit ihm die Leidenschaft für das Segeln.
Endlich gelingt es Claire, eine Begegnung mit dem exzentrischen wie berühmten Lord Byron herbeizuführen. Nach einer Theater-Aufführung erscheint der Liebling der Frauen vor dem Theater, wo er vom Publikum frenetisch gefeiert wird. Claire und Lord Byron finden zusammen.

PAUSE

ZWEITER AKT
Italien

Sechste Szene
Auf einem freizügigen und ungezügelten Maskenball in Venedig, den Lord Byron ausrichtet, kommt es zur Trennung von Claire und Lord Byron, der sich seiner Maitresse Teresa Guiccioli zuwendet. Mary und Percy Shelley konzentrieren sich in dieser lasziven Umgebung auf sich selbst, empfinden ihre Zweisamkeit als glücklich, doch Shelley bemerkt Claires Enttäuschung und tröstet sie.

Siebte Szene
Percy Shelley hat sich in La Spezia, an der italienischen Mittelmeerküste, mit Mary niedergelassen und pflegt ein ruhiges Leben mit seinen Freunden und Nachbarn.
Unweit von ihnen logiert Lord Byron mit seiner derzeitigen Geliebten Teresa Guiccioli. Ebenso leben in der Nachbarschaft Sir Edward Williams, wie Byron und Shelley ein begeisterter Segler, und dessen Frau Jane. Von ätherischer Erscheinung und musikalisch überaus gebildet inspiriert sie Shelley zu immer neuen Gedichten und Werken, das Verhältnis wird immer intensiver: sie ist die vierte Muse Shelleys. Die intellektuelle Mary Wollstonecraft-Shelley, die davon weiß, sublimiert diese Demütigung mit ihrem weltberühmten Roman “Frankenstein”. Ihre Ängste, Albträume, Phantasien finden Ausdruck in der Schaffung eines Monsters.
In einer Traumsequenz verzweifelt Shelley an den emotionalen Fesseln seiner geliebten Musen.

Achte Szene
Das Leben der Freunde findet nun in einem gemeinsamen Anwesen am Golf von La Spezia statt. Gemeinsam mit Lord Byron gehen die Männer häufig segeln. Die Beziehungen der Frauen untereinander werden zunehmend angespannter.

Neunte Szene
Shelley und Edward Williams sind trotz schlechten Wetters und stürmischer See zum Segeln aufgebrochen. Das ‚Schicksal‘ kündet in einem Pas de deux mit Percy Shelley von seinem bevorstehenden Tod. Ein Bote eilt verkündet Unheilvolles: das zerborstene Segelboot von Shelley wurde am Strand gefunden. Nach kurzer Zeit wird der Leichnam Shelleys an Land gespült.

EPILOG

Zehnte Szene
Nach alter Sitte wird die Leiche am Strand vor den Augen der Klageweiber und Freunde auf einem Scheiterhaufen verbrannt. Doch das Herz von Percy Shelley brennt nicht. Das ‘Schicksal’ trägt das Herz fort ... Nun hat sich das ‚Schicksal‘ selbst erfüllt.

Montag, 22.06.2009
19.30 Uhr
6 - 53 €

Termine:
20 | 22 | 25 | 28 Juni 2009
02 Juli 2009


Choreographie und Inszenierung: Patrice Bart
Musik: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Musikalische Einrichtung: Ermanno Florio
Bühnenbild: Ezio Toffolutti
Kostüme: Luisa Spinatelli
Libretto | Dramaturgie: Dr. Christiane Theobald
Assistentin des Choreographen: Claude de Vulpian
Licht: Ezio Toffolutti
Licht: Diego Leetz
Assistentin des Bühnenbildners: Annamaria Cattaneo
Solisten und Corps de ballet des Staatsballetts Berlin
Staatskapelle Berlin

Musikalische Leitung: Ermanno Florio
Percy ShelleyVladimir Malakhov
Mary WollstonecraftPolina Semionova
Harriet WestbrookNadja Saidakova
Harriet GroveIana Salenko
Jefferson HoggDinu Tamazlacaru
Claire ClairmontBeatrice Knop
Lord ByronMartin Buczkó
Teresa GuiccioliElisa Carrillo Cabrera
Jane WilliamsElena Pris

2:40 h | 1 Pause