Don Juan
Ballet by Giorgio Madia | Music by Christoph Willibald Gluck, among others
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/6/4/c/f/c/ec_64cfc0679254a82dc27009cb0ad74330.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
SBB | Foto: (c) Enrico Nawrath
Don Juan is one of the most dazzling figures in European cultural history. His origins are unclear, but since the early baroque period the legend surrounding his seductive powers and the inevitable punishment this brings him forms the centre of dramas as well as comedies. He provided improvisation-based folk theatres and puppet theatres with material for frivolity; the most famous adaptation for the courtly opera stage is that by Mozart/Da Ponte – it highlights the tragic elements contained within the comic, and envisions his boundless desire as the brilliant characteristic of an intellectual.

The choreographer Giorgio Madia views Don Juan as a figure of the theatre. Part of his myth is the delicate influence of the supposed coincidence which heightens pleasure as well as the never-ending movement which provides the only means for understanding the transience of the present moment. It is the seducer's masterful use of illusion and fantasy which his female "victims" as well as the audience succumb to. Don Juan has a great gift when it comes to the game and magic of eroticism. He represents that which seems illusory but which is the measure of all things when the whole world becomes a stage.

Giorgio Madia stages this legend as a piece of irresistibly seductive, intimate baroque theatre in modern form. He has drawn inspiration from Christoph Willibald Gluck's ballet pantomime DON JUAN, the first piece in which the medium of dance was given the sole responsibility for conveying emotions when it premièred in 1761. Complemented by additional compositions by Gluck's contemporaries, the Zeitgeist of this baroque piece about surrendering to illusion, about desire and transience, could hardly have been given a more fitting expression.
Thursday, 26.06.2014
19.30 h
14 - 42 €
>> Ticket

Further Events:
24 | 24 | 26 | 30 June 2014
02 | 06 July 2014


Production: Giorgio Madia
Stage design: Cordelia Matthes
Costumes: Bruno Schwengl
Dramaturgy: Annegret Gertz
Choreography Assistent: Adriana Mortelliti
Solo-Violine: Lidia Baich
Musik: vom Tonträger
Dancing: Solisten und Corps de ballet des Staatsballetts Berlin

Don Juan
Ballett von Giorgio Madia | Musik von Christoph Willibald Gluck u. a.
http://data.heimat.de/transform.php?file=http://data.heimat.de/pics/0/7/c/a/0/ec_07ca0222e606ad42c769187863fbe560.jpg&height=285&width=504&do=cropOut
SBB | Foto: (c) Enrico Nawrath
Premiere am 21. Juni 2014 in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Don Juan ist eine der schillerndsten Figuren der europäischen Kulturgeschichte. Seine Herkunft ist ungewiss, aber seit dem frühen Barock steht die Legende um seine Verführungskünste und die unvermeidliche Bestrafung im Mittelpunkt von Dramen und Komödien. Dem improvisierenden Volks- und Puppentheater bot er Anlass zu frivolem Spiel, der höfischen Opernbühne ist die wohl berühmteste Adaption durch Mozart/Da Ponte zu verdanken – in ihr freilich wird die Tragik im Komischen betont, sein maßloses Begehren als genialer Zug eines Intellektuellen zum Ausdruck gebracht.

Für den Choreographen Giorgio Madia ist Don Juan eine Figur des Theaters. Teil seines Mythos sind das leichte Spiel des vermeintlichen Zufalls, das den Genuss erhöht, und die fortwährende Bewegung, mit der sich die Flüchtigkeit des Augenblicks einzig begreifen lässt. Dieses meisterliche Spiel mit Illusion und Phantasie ist es, dem nicht nur die weiblichen „Opfer“ des Verführers erliegen, sondern auch sein Publikum. Don Juan ist ein begnadeter Spieler und Magier des Erotischen, er steht exemplarisch für das, was trügerisch erscheint, aber doch das Maß aller Dinge ist, wenn die Welt zur Bühne wird.

Diesen Mythos entfaltet Giorgio Madia als ein unwiderstehlich sinnliches, intimes Barock-Theater in moderner Gestalt. Dabei lässt er sich von Christoph Willibald Glucks Ballett-Pantomime DON JUAN inspirieren, in der zur Uraufführung 1761 erstmals allein dem Tanz die Aufgabe zugestanden worden war, Emotionen zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Ergänzt um Kompositionen einiger Zeitgenossen Glucks könnte der Zeitgeist des barocken Spiels um Hingabe an den Schein, um Begehren und Vergänglich-keit kaum treffender zum Ausdruck gebracht werden.
Donnerstag, 26.06.2014
19.30 Uhr
14 - 42 €
>> Ticket

Termine:
21 | 24 | 26 | 30 Juni 2014
02 | 06 Juli 2014


Choreographie und Inszenierung: Giorgio Madia
Bühne: Cordelia Matthes
Kostüme: Bruno Schwengl
Dramaturgie: Annegret Gertz
Es tanzen: Solisten und Corps de ballet des Staatsballetts Berlin