Ballet in Berlin - History
When Friedrich the Great founded his court opera, the Royal Opera House Unter den Linden, in 1742 he also established a ballet company, initially to challenge the interludes of the opera. Dancers and figurants were engaged from Paris.
Barbarina Campanini - painting by Antoine Pesne (around 1745)
Taglioni's ballet „Satanella“ - stage design by Karl Wilhelm Gropius (1852)

The central figures in this era were: The sisters Roland and Marie Cochois, Barbarina Campanini (Friedrich the Great brought her in an adventurous and legendary kidnapping to Berlin), Jean-Georges Noverre, the ballet master and dancer Michele Poitier, and the choreographer Étienne Lauchery.

The first ballet school was established in order to address the lack of dancers: the idea was to train Berlin bourgeouis girls because it was too expensive to continue to import dancers from Paris.

The first independent ballet in Berlin was performed in 1794 (on the stage of the Nationaltheater at the Gendarmenmarkt): »Cortez and Thélaire« danced in the choreography of Étienne Lauchery. This performance separated the ballet in Berlin from the opera and established the ballet as an independent genre. As a brisk ballet business developed, repertoire quarrels were resolved per decree and »Arlequinaden und Prügel-Divertissements« (= harlequinades and fight scenes), were included in the repertoire. In 1803 – as one of the first imports from Paris – Pierre Gardels »Dansomanie« (in the revision of Étienne Lauchery) was accepted in the Berlin repertoire.

The Royal Opera House and the Nationaltheater at the Gendarmenmarkt were banded together in 1811 to become the »Königlichen Schauspiele«. In 1813 Constantin Michel Telle became the director of the ballet. Between 1817 and 1856 Michel François Hoguet was the director.

Mirroring the developments of European theatre dance, key works like »La Fille mal gardée« (1818) or »La Sylphide« (1832) were staged in Berlin. A considerable ballet schedule (romantic fairy ballets and magic ballets are part of the repertoire) and, unusual for the Biedermeier, success with the Berlin audience allowed Berlin, in addition to Vienna and Stuttgart, to become one of the leading centers for ballet in the German speaking area. Famous personalities like the Taglioni family, Fanny Elßer, Carlotta Grisi, Fanny Cerrito, Lucile Grahn and many others assembled regularly.

Paul Taglioni, descendant of the famous dancing-family and Premier danseur at the Opera since 1829, became director of the ballet in 1856. He was one of the most creative figures within the Berlin history of ballet. It is due to him, that Berlin rose to the ranks of a ballet center like Paris, Vienna, St. Petersburg, London, Milan and Naples. His ballet »Flick und Flock´s Abenteuer« was performed 451 (!) times.

Under the direction of Emil Graeb (1887-1919) and his protagonist Antonietta dell´Era the ballet survived the – in Europe generally fading – star of the ballet genre with 140 dancers (most of them emanated the affiliated Royal ballet school). The performances of Isadora Duncan or Anna Pavlova at the Krolloper (since 1895 affiliated with the »königliche Schauspiele«) forshadowed the scene which would take shape after World War I.

With Heinrich Kröller (1919-1922), who was very open minded towards contemporary dance, and Max Terpis (1923-1930), a pupil of Mary Wigman, the new ground of modern dance was broken. His successor Rudolf von Laban (1930-1934) did not manage to preserve the independent position of the dance art-form at the opera house. However, dance was heavily integrated in contemporary operas.

The national socialist demand on recreation of the old Prussian theatre traditions were implemented by Lizzie Maudrik (1933–1945). She founded a new ballet ensemble.
Prima ballerina Antonietta dell’Era - 1879-1909 in Berlin engaged
Max Terpis’ „Der letzte Pierrot“ - Staatsoper 1927
Tatjana Gsovsky's „Daphnis und Chloé“ - Sybill Werden and Gert Reinholm, Staatsoper 1946

AFTER WORLD WAR II: CREATING BALLET IN THREE DIFFERENT OPERA HOUSES
The comeback took place with Tatjana Gsovsky (1945–1951). In her work the complete mastery of the Russian school had as much effect as her experience with the German free dance.

Daisy Spies (1951–1955), who has already been a Principal dancer with Max Terpis, became her successor. Lilo Gruber (1955–1969), a Wigman-pupil that cultivated the Soviet realism and Claus Schulz (1969–1972) replaced each other. For their era, a vivid ballet bustle is characteristic as well as a diversified repertoire.

Egon Bischoff, (1974–1993, inbetween one year with Martin Puttke), brought the classic-academical Russian school to completion and promoted the homogenity of the company by closely working together with the ballet school.

In 1993 Michael Denard was appointed director. Choreographers like Maurice Béjart, Roland Petit or Rudolf Nureyev enriched the ballet repertoire of the Staatsoper, creating specifically for the ensemble, The French choreographer Patrice Bart restaged a row of great ballet classics. Between 1996 and 2001 the temporary director was Georg Quander. Vladimir Malakhov was appointed artistic director in 2002, since 2004 he has been the artistic director of the Staatsballett Berlin.
In 1990 Peter Schaufuss was appointed artistic director, he was succeeded by Ray Barra in 1994 and by Richard Cragun in 1996. Between 1999 and 2004 Sylviane Bayard was the artistic director.

Important for Berlin´s ballet history is the Tanztheater of the Komische Oper. Walter Felsenstein’s „concept of Musiktheater“ lends itself to a productive relationship in a close emotional partnership with theatre and audience. In 1966 Felsenstein appointed Tom Schilling as chief choreographer of the Komische Oper. Claiming that dance “should eventually legitimate as the only possible way of describing a human occurrence” – thus Tom Schilling´s commitment –he conquered a broad audience and his work is internationally watched closely. Thereby his view is just not only on the ballet-lovers, but he thought of the audience as a broad group of human beings, who should be touched through a ballet performance.

Tom Schilling and the dancers of the Tanztheater at the Komische Oper can be considered identification figures for a whole generation.

In 1994 Jan Linkens was appointed chief choreographer, Marc Jonkers becomes the director of the ballet company. In 1999 Richard Wherlock became the ballet director and the Tanztheater changed the name »BerlinBallett – Komische Oper«. In 2001 Blanca Li was appointed director, however, she left after only one year. Between 2002 and 2004 Adolphe Binder is the artistic director.
„Schwanensee“ (Bischoff after Petipa/Iwanow/Sergejew) - Monika Lubitz and Bernd Dreyer, Staatsoper 1983
Tom Schilling's „La Mer“ - Hannelore Bey and Roland Gawlik, Komische Oper 1969

Figurehead of the Berlin ballet history was for a certain time Tatjana Gsovsky. She founded her – in a today´s sense – free group, the »Berliner Ballett«. In 1951 she left the Staatsoper, from 1953 she was a consistently invited choreographer to the Städtische Oper in the Western part of the city. There she became ballet mistress and chief choreographer in 1958. She withdrawed from this position and addressed herself to her own ballet school. Tatjana Gsovsky staged numerous classical ballets as well as choreographies based on contemporary compositions (e. g. Boris Blacher, Hans Werner Henze or Luigi Nono). Her choreographies and projects she performed on worldwide tours, were rather disliked in the head institution in Berlin. On the other hand, considering her internationally successful work, she was labeled to be from Berlin. She was succeeded by Kenneth MacMillan (1966–69) as the director of the Ballet at the Deutsche Oper, whose choreographies left their mark on the repertoire.

Between 1962 and 1990 Gert Reinholm – companion of Tatjana Gsovsky – guided the fortune ot the ballet at the Deutsche Oper. At first the ballet mirrored the paths of a post war ballet and only eventually implemented the change and opened up towards currents and personalities of the international scene. On the basis of classic-academical dance a diversified repertoire prospered in which ballets from August Bournonville, Marius Petipa and George Balanchine come across each other. Choreographies by Hans van Manen, Kurt Jooss, Maurice Béjart and Valery Panov formed the repertoire. Protagonists were among others Eva Evdokimova or Peter Schaufuss. The dancer and choreographer Gerhard Bohner, formerly dancer and choreographer at the Deutsche Oper became one of the central figures in the “anti-establishment-activities” in the Akademie der Künste of Berlin. Gert Reinholm regularly invited star-guest performances to Berlin and managed to stage various world premieres at the Deutsche Oper, among others for example »Tutuguri or Nacht aus Blei«.

In 1990 Peter Schaufuss was appointed artistic director, he was succeeded by Ray Barra in 1994 and by Richard Cragun in 1996. Between 1999 and 2004 Sylviane Bayard was the artistic director.

Translation: Nadja Kadel
„La Sylphide“ (Bournonville) - Eva Evdokimova and Peter Schaufuss, Deutsche Oper 1982
Tatjana Gsovsky and Gert Reinholm with Yvette Chauviré
Gerhard Bohners „Ballett und elektronische Musik“, Akademie der Künste 1971

Ballett in Berlin - Notizen zur Geschichte
DIE ANFÄNGE AN DER HOFOPER FRIEDRICHS DES GROSSEN
Friedrich der Große etabliert 1742, mit Gründung seiner Hofoper, dem Königlichen Opernhaus Unter den Linden, auch eine Ballettcompagnie, zunächst um mit ihr die Balletteinlagen der Opern zu bestreiten, Tänzer und Figuranten werden aus Paris engagiert.
Die zentralen Figuren dieser Epoche: die Schwestern Roland und Marie Cochois, Barbarina Campanini (von Friedrich dem Großen mittels einer abenteuerlichen und legendenumwobenen Entführung nach Berlin engagiert), Jean-Georges Noverre, der Ballettmeister und Tänzer Michele Poitier oder der Choreograph Étienne Lauchery.
Die Gründung der ersten Ballettschule, um dem Tänzermangel entgegenzuwirken: es sollen “Berliner Bürgermädchen für den Tanz abgerichtet werden”, denn Tänzer aus Paris zu engagieren, wird auf die Dauer zu kostspielig.
Barbarina Campanini - Gemälde von Antoine Pesne (um 1745)
Taglionis Ballett „Satanella“ - Szenenbild von Karl Wilhelm Gropius (1852)

DAS GENRE BALLETT WIRD EIGENSTÄNDIG
Das erste eigenständige Ballett in Berlin wird 1794 (auf der Bühne des Nationaltheaters am Gendarmenmarkt) aufgeführt: »Cortez und Thélaire« in der Choreographie von Étienne Lauchery. Damit löst sich in Berlin das Ballett von der Oper und wird zu einem eigenständigen Genre. Zum Repertoire des Nationaltheaters am Gendarmenmarkt gehören “Arlequinaden und Prügel-Divertissements”, Spielplan-Streitereien werden per Dekret gelöst, ein reger Ballettbetrieb setzt zunehmend ein. 1803 gelangt als einer der ersten Paris-Importe Pierre Gardels »Dansomanie« in der Überarbeitung von Étienne Lauchery auf den Berliner Spielplan.
Die Hofoper und das Nationaltheater am Gendarmenmarkt werden 1811 zu den “Königlichen Schauspielen” vereinigt. 1813 wird Constantin Michel Telle Leiter des Balletts, 1817–1856 Michel François Hoguet.
Die Entwicklungen des europäischen Theatertanzes spiegelnd gelangen Schlüsselwerke wie »La Fille mal gardée« (1818) oder »La Sylphide« (1832) auf die Berliner Ballettbühne. Ein umfangreicher Ballettspielplan, (zum Repertoire gehören romantische Feen- und Zauberballette), und ein für die Zeit des Biedermeier ungewöhnlicher Erfolg beim Berliner Publikum bewirken, dass Berlin im deutschsprachigen Raum – neben Wien und Stuttgart – zu einem der führenden Ballettzentren wird, in dem sich so berühmte Namen wie die Familie Taglioni, Fanny Elßler, Carlotta Grisi, Fanny Cerrito, Lucile Grahn und viele andere regelmäßig versammeln.
Paul Taglioni, Spross der berühmten Tänzerfamilie und seit 1829 als Premier danseur an der Oper engagiert, wird 1856 Leiter des Balletts. Er ist eine der kreativsten Figuren der Berliner Ballettgeschichte. Ihm verdankt Berlin das Aufrücken in die Position eines Ballettzentrums neben Paris, Wien, St. Petersburg, London, Mailand, Neapel. Sein Ballett »Flick und Flock’s Abenteuer« erlebt 451 (!) Aufführungen.

ERSTE SCHRITTE AUF DEM WEG IN DIE MODERNE
Unter der Leitung von Emil Graeb (1887–1919) und seiner Protagonistin Antonietta dell’Era überlebt das Ballett mit 140 Tänzern (fast alle entstammen der angegliederten Königlichen Ballettschule) den allgemein in Europa verblassenden Stern des Genres Ballett. Mit Auftritten Isadora Duncans oder Anna Pawlowas in der Krolloper, (seit 1895 den Königlichen Schauspielen angeschlossen) werden jene Zeichen der Zeit vorweg genommen, die nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg unaufhaltsam Gestalt annehmen sollen.
Durch Heinrich Kröller (1919–1922), der dem zeitgenössischen Tanz gegenüber sehr aufgeschlossen war, und durch Max Terpis (1923–1930), ein Schüler von Mary Wigman, werden Wege des modernen Tanzes beschritten; seinem Nachfolger Rudolf von Laban (1930–1934) jedoch gelingt es nicht, die eigenständige Position der Kunstform Tanz am Opernhaus zu bewahren. Tanz wird aber zu dieser Zeit stark in zeitgenössische Opern integriert.
Die nationalsozialistischen Forderungen nach der Neugestaltung altpreußischer Traditionen im Theater setzt Lizzie Maudrik 1933–1945 mit einem neugegründeten Ballett-Ensemble um.
Primaballerina Antonietta dell’Era - 1879-1909 in Berlin engagiert.
Max Terpis’ „Der letzte Pierrot“ - Staatsoper 1927.
Tatjana Gsovskys „Daphnis und Chloé“ - Sybill Werden und Gert Reinholm, Staatsoper 1946

DEUTSCHE STAATSOPER
Der Neuanfang erfolgt mit Tatjana Gsovsky (1945–1951), in deren Arbeit ihre völlige Beherrschung der russischen Schule genauso zum Tragen kommt wie ihre Erfahrungen mit dem deutschen Ausdruckstanz.
Ihre Nachfolgerin wird Daisy Spies (1951–1955), die bereits unter Max Terpis Solotänzerin war. Lilo Gruber (1955–1969), eine Wigman-Schülerin, die den sowjetischen Realismus pflegt, und Claus Schulz (1969–1972) lösen einander ab. Für ihre Ära sind jeweils ein lebhafter Ballettbetrieb sowie ein vielseitiger Spielplan charakteristisch.
Egon Bischoff, (1974–1993, ein Jahr dazwischen Martin Puttke), bringt an der Staatsoper die klassisch-akademische russische Schule zur Vollendung und befördert in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Berliner Staatlichen Ballettschule die Homogenität des Ensembles.
1993 wird Michaël Denard zum Ballettdirektor berufen. Choreographen wie Maurice Béjart und Roland Petit, oder Rudolf Nurejew bereichern das Ballettrepertoire der Staatsoper, kreieren eigens für das Ensemble, eine Reihe der großen Ballettklassiker studiert der französische Choreograph Patrice Bart neu ein. Kommissarischer Ballettdirektor ist von 1996–2001 Staatsopernintendant Georg Quander. Vladimir Malakhov wird 2002 zum Ballettdirektor berufen, ist ab 2004 Ballettintendant der Stiftung Oper in Berlin.
„Schwanensee“ (Bischoff nach Petipa/Iwanow/Sergejew) - Monika Lubitz und Bernd Dreyer, Staatsoper 1983
"Dix oder Eros und Tod" (Choreographie: Roland Petit) - Bettina Thiel, Staatsoper 1993

KOMISCHE OPER
Wichtig für die Berliner Ballettgeschichte ist das Tanztheater der Komischen Oper. Walter Felsensteins Theaterentwurf bekennt sich zu einem produktiven, partnerschaftlichen Verhältnis zwischen Theater und Publikum. Felsenstein ernennt Tom Schilling 1966 (nach bereits 20 Jahren »Musiktheater«-Praxis) zum Chefchoreographen der Komischen Oper. Mit dem Anspruch, Tanz müsse sich »als letztlich einzig mögliche Gestaltungsweise eines menschlichen Ereignisses legitimieren«, so ein Bekenntnis Tom Schillings, erobert er ein breites Publikum, und seine Arbeit wurde international genau beobachtet. Dabei hat er gerade nicht nur die Ballettomanen im Blick, sondern denkt sich das zu erreichende Publikum als Gruppe von Menschen, die durch den Besuch einer Ballettvorstellung berührt werden müssten.
Tom Schilling und die Tänzer des Tanztheaters der Komischen Oper sind zum Teil Identifikationsfiguren für eine ganze Generation.
1994 wird Jan Linkens zum Chefchoreographen ernannt, Marc Jonkers zum Direktor des Tanztheaters. 1999 wird Richard Wherlock Ballettdirektor, das Tanztheater erhält den Namen “BerlinBallett – Komische Oper”. 2001 folgt Blanca Li in das Amt, das sie vorzeitig aufgibt. 2002 bis 2004 ist Adolphe Binder künstlerische Leiterin.
"Romeo und Julia" (Choreographie: Tom Schilling) - Hannelore Bey und Roland Gawlik, Komische Oper 1972
Tom Schilling und Hannelore Bey in der Probe
„La Mer“ - Hannelore Bey und Roland Gawlik, (Choreographie: Tom Schilling) Komische Oper 1969

STÄDTISCHE OPER / DEUTSCHE OPER BERLIN
Galionsfigur der Berliner Ballettgeschichte ist für eine bestimmte Zeit Tatjana Gsovsky. Sie gründet ihre im heutigen Sinne freie Truppe, das »Berliner Ballett«. 1951 verlässt sie die Staatsoper, wird ab 1953 immer wieder als Choreographin an die Städtische Oper im Westteil der Stadt eingeladen, wird dort aber erst 1958 zur Ballettmeisterin und Chefchoreographin ernannt. 1966 erklärt sie ihren Rücktritt von dieser Position und widmet sich ihrer Ballettschule. Tatjana Gsovsky bringt zahlreiche Klassiker-Inszenierungen heraus sowie Choreographien (z. T. Uraufführungen) zu zeitgenössischen Kompositionen z. B. von Boris Blacher, Hans Werner Henze oder Luigi Nono. Ihre Choreographien und Projekte, die sie mit ihrem Berliner Ballett auf erfolgreichen Welttourneen zur Aufführung bringt, sind am Stammhaus eher missliebig, in ihren Erfolgen andernorts, wird sie allerdings als »Berlinerin« reklamiert. Ihr folgt als künstlerischer Leiter vorübergehend Kenneth MacMillan (1966–69), dessen Werke auch den Spielplan prägen.
Von 1962 bis 1990 lenkt Gert Reinholm, Weggefährte Tatjana Gsovskys, die Geschicke des Balletts an der Städtischen Oper, 1972 wird er zum Ballettdirektor ernannt.
Das Ballett spiegelt zunächst noch den Weg des Nachkriegsballetts und vollzieht erst allmählich den Wandel zu einer Öffnung für Strömungen und Persönlichkeiten der internationalen Szene. Auf der Basis des klassisch-akademischen Tanzes gedeiht ein ausgesprochen eklektischer Spielplan, in dem sich Ballette von Auguste Bournonville, Marius Petipa und George Balanchine begegnen, Choreographien von Hans van Manen, Kurt Jooss, Maurice Béjart und Valery Panov prägen mit ihren Choreographien das Repertoire, Protagonisten sind unter anderen Eva Evdokimova oder Peter Schaufuss. Der Tänzer und Choreograph Gerhard Bohner wird zu einer der zentralen Figuren der “Anti-Establishment-Aktivitäten” in der Berliner Akademie der Künste. Gert Reinholm lädt regelmäßig Stargastspiele nach Berlin ein und befördert zahlreiche Uraufführungen auf die Bühne der Deutschen Oper: darunter z. B. »Tutuguri« oder »Nacht aus Blei.«
1990 wird Peter Schaufuss zum Ballettdirektor ernannt, ihm folgt 1994 Ray Barra, 1996 Richard Cragun, 1999 bis 2004 leitet Sylviane Bayard das Ballett als Ballettdirektorin.
„La Sylphide“ (Bournonville) - Eva Evdokimova und Peter Schaufuss, Deutsche Oper 1982.
Tatjana Gsovsky und Gert Reinholm mit Yvette Chauviré.
Gerhard Bohners „Ballett und elektronische Musik“, Akademie der Künste 1971