Spielstätten Komische Oper Berlin

Since the construction of the venue in the Behrenstraße (which opened as the "Theater Unter den Linden" in 1892), the Komische Oper Berlin has at various times been a consistent international trend-setter in the world of musical theatre. As the leading theatre for operettas and revues in the 1920s, it fundamentally shaped the Berlin, and hence international, entertainment scene. Following the Second World War, Walter Felsenstein’s concept of musical theatre revolutionised European opera, and to this day remains an important point of reference for the great majority of musical theatre directors seeking to be contemporary in their work. This inspirational international influence as a trend-setter in innovative musical theatre is reflected in the many artistic careers which began at the Komische Oper Berlin – including those of the directors Götz Friedrich and Harry Kupfer as well as the conductors Otto Klemperer, Kurt Masur, Yakov Kreizberg, and Kirill Petrenko.

In 2012, Barrie Kosky took over from Andreas Homoki as the Artistic Director of the Komische Oper Berlin. He was joined by Henrik Nánási, the new General Music Director. The Komische Oper Berlin is versatile and flexible to a degree which is unusual for an opera house. This and the fixed ensemble of singer-performers are key characteristics of the Komische Oper Berlin under Kosky’s directorship. Kosky’s conceptual approach draws not only on the tradition set by Felsenstein, but also on the venue’s pre-war traditions, which were strongly shaped by Jewish actors and have hitherto received less attention. Felsenstein’s vision of opera as a form of musical theatre in which music and action are equally important components of a production is combined by Kosky with the demand that musical theatre should provide an experience which appeals to all the senses and which encompasses musical drama in all its forms, from the classic Mozart repertoire through to genre-defying projects.

I II III IV V VI VII
B3-Preise 49 39 29 24 19 13 12
C3-Preise 69 54 39 29 24 16 12

Local Trains and Trams 
Friedrichstrasse: RE 1, RE 2, RE 7 and RB 14; S 1, S 2, S 25, S 5, S 7
Brandenburger Tor: S 1, S 2, S 25

Underground Trains
Französische Strasse, Stadtmitte: U 6
Stadtmitte, Mohrenstrasse: U 2
Brandenburger Tor: U 55

Bus
Unter den Linden, Friedrichstrasse: TXL, 100, 147, 200, N 2, N 6

Trams
Friedrichstrasse: M 1, 12

Parking
Friedrichstadt Passage Car Park
Entrance from Jägerstrasse or Taubenstrasse, €4.50 per day (24 hours)

Adresse

Behrenstraße 55-57
10117 Berlin
www.komische-oper-berlin.de

Öffnungszeiten

OPERA TICKET OFFICE
Unter den Linden 41, 10117 Berlin
Mon — Sat: 11 a.m. — 8 p.m.
Sun and holidays: 1 p.m. — 4 p.m.

BOX OFFICE
Entrance Behrenstraße
Tickets for evening performances go on sale 1 hour before the curtain goes up. Tickets for chamber concerts and late-night concerts go on sale ½ hour before the performance.

Closed on 24 December.

Please note that at the box office of the Komische Berlin you can only buy full price tickets for our performances at the Staatsoper im Schiller Theater and at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, but all types of tickets for our performances at the Komische Oper.

Spielstätten Komische Oper Berlin

Die Komische Oper Berlin war seit dem Bau des Hauses an der Behrenstraße (Eröffnung 1892 als "Theater Unter den Linden") zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten immer wieder ein internationaler Schrittmacher auf dem Gebiet des Musiktheaters. In den 1920er Jahren prägte sie als führendes Operetten- und Revuetheater maßgeblich die Berlinerische und damit internationale Unterhaltungsszene. Das Musiktheaterkonzept Walter Felsensteins revolutionierte nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg den gesamten europäischen Opernbetrieb und bleibt bis heute ein wichtiger Bezugspunkt für die große Mehrheit von Musiktheater-Regisseuren mit Anspruch auf Zeitgenossenschaft. Diese internationale Strahlkraft als Impulsgeber für innovatives Musiktheater spiegelt sich in den vielen künstlerischen Karrieren wider, die an der Komischen Oper Berlin ihren Ausgang nahmen – darunter die Regisseure Götz Friedrich und Harry Kupfer sowie die Dirigenten Otto Klemperer, Kurt Masur, Yakov Kreizberg und Kirill Petrenko. 

2012 übernahm Barrie Kosky als Nachfolger von Andreas Homoki die künstlerische Leitung der Komischen Oper Berlin. Mit ihm kam Henrik Nánási als Generalmusikdirektor. Die für ein Opernhaus ungewöhnliche Vielseitigkeit und Flexibilität sowie das feste Ensemble aus Sänger-Darstellern sind für die Intendanz Kosky wichtige Charakterzüge der Komischen Oper Berlin. Kosky bezieht sich dabei konzeptionell nicht nur auf die Tradition Felsensteins, sondern ebenso auf die bisher weniger beachtete, stark von jüdischen Künstlern geprägte Vorkriegstradition des Hauses. Felsensteins Anspruch an eine Oper als Musiktheater, in dem Musik und Szene gleichberechtigte Teile der Inszenierung sind, verbindet Kosky mit der Forderung nach einem Musik-Theatererlebnis, das alle Sinne anspricht und die gesamte Spannbreite an musikdramatischen Formen vom klassischen Mozart-Repertoire bis hin zu genreüberschreitenden Projekten umfasst.

I II III IV V VI VII
B3-Preise 49 39 29 24 19 13 12
C3-Preise 69 54 39 29 24 16 12

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Regionalverkehr/S-Bahn: Friedrichstraße (RE 1, 2, 7 und RB 14; S 1, 2, 25, 3,5, 7, 75)/Brandenburger Tor (S 1, 2, 25) 
U-Bahn: Französische Straße/Stadtmitte (U 6), Stadtmitte/Mohrenstraße (U 2),
Brandenburger Tor (U 55)
Straßenbahn/Tram: Friedrichstraße (M1, 12) 
Bus: Unter den Linden/Friedrichstraße (TXL, 100, 147, 200)

Parken
»Parkhaus Friedrichstadtpassagen«, Einfahrt Jägerstraße oder Taubenstraße. Fünf Gehminuten vom Zuschauereingang der Komischen Oper Berlin.
Sie zahlen für 30 Minuten 0,80 € und für 1 Stunde 1,60 €. Der Tagespreis (24 h) liegt bei 4,50 €.

Adresse

Behrenstraße 55-57
10117 Berlin
www.komische-oper-berlin.de

Öffnungszeiten

TAGESKASSE
Unter den Linden 41
10117 Berlin
Montag bis Samstag von 11:00 bis 19:00 Uhr und Sonntags
sowie an Feiertagen von 13:00 bis 16:00 Uhr geöffnet.

ABENDKASSE IM FOYER DER KOMISCHEN OPER BERLIN
Eingang Behrenstraße
Nur für den jeweilige Abend ca. 1. Stunde vor Beginn,
bei Foyerveranstaltungen eine 1/2 Stunde vor Beginn.

Am 24. Dezember geschlossen.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie an der Kasse der Komischen Oper Berlin nur Vollpreiskarten für unsere Vorstellungen in der Staatsoper im Schiller Theater und in der Deutschen Oper Berlin erwerben können.