Marius Stravinsky


Stravinsky started playing the violin when he was four at the Moscow Central Music School. He continued his studies at the Yehudi Menuhin School in Great Britain from the age of ten and three years later became the first former Soviet student to secure a scholarship in music at Eton College in the UK. He is a graduate and a scholarship winner of the Royal Academy of Music in London. Stravinsky´s passion for conducting began through meeting Mariss Jansons and playing Bruch Concerto for him aged 13, following which he received conducting training from Igor Golovchin and Thomas Sanderling. The summer of 1998 was spent assisting Claudio Abbado in rehearsals of Peter Brook´s production of Don Giovanni at the Aix-en Provence Festival. He has also attended conducting master- classes with Kenneth Kiesler and Eri Klas.

In September 2002, Stravinsky accepted the position of Assistant Conductor with the Moscow Philharmonic and Moscow Helikon Opera, studying with Vladimir Ponkin. His three year conducting residency at the Helikon Opera included performance runs of Lulu (Berg), Lady Macbeth of the Mtensk District (Shostakovich), Les Dialogue des Carmelites (Poulenc), The Story of Real Man (Prokofiev), Kaschei the Immortal (Rimsky-Korsakov), Siberia (Giordano), Mavra (Stravinsky) and Carmen (Bizet). He has also worked with numerous ensembles including the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (UK), Moscow Philharmonic, Russian National Orchestra, Lithuanian National Symphony Orchestra, Thuringer Symphoniker Saalfeld-Rudolstadt, St. Petersburg Chamber Orchestra, Belarusian State Academic Symphony Orchestra, National Orchestra of Malta, Queensland Symphony, Tokyo Opera Philharmonic Orchestra etc.

Following an extensive search and two year competition over 40 candidates, Stravinsky was appointed Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Karelia Philharmonic Orchestra (KPO) in 2007, becoming one of the youngest conductors in Russia ever to hold such a post. He held this position until 2012. After making his highly successful Mariinsky Opera debut with Mavra and The Nightingale in February 2012, he was immediately re-invited for further performances. His discography includes world premiere recordings of Brull´s Violin Concerto and Symphony, Jadassohn´s Symphony and Pabst´s Piano Concerto – all on the Cameo Classics label. The KPO and Stravinsky have also released of the Thomas Blower Symphony, Lamia by Dorothy Howell and works by Holbrook as well as a Piano Concerto and Silentium by Zhukov.

Vladimir Jurowski invited Marius Stravinsky to be his assistant with the London Philharmonic Orchestra in 2013-2015. He is also a regular guest conductor of the Mikhailovsky Theatre (St Petersburg), where he recently conducted La Bayadere, Swan Lake, Don Quixote, La Fille mal Gardee, White Darkness as well as other performances. He has also developed a strong relationship with the State Academic Symphony “Svetlanov” orchestra, conducting more than a dozen concerts since making his debut in February 2014. Other recent debuts have been with the Slovenian National Philharmonic, Hessisches Staatstheater Orchester of Milan, where he was immediately re-invited for more performances in 2015 and 2017. Other notable highlights next season include debuts with the orchestras of Deutsche Oper Berlin and Staatskapelle Berlin, as well as the St Petersburg Symphony Orchestra and will continue working with the State Academic Symphony Orchestra “Evgeny Svetlanov” in Moscow.

Marius Stravinsky

DIRIGENT

Im Alter von vier Jahren begann Marius Stravinsky und Zentralen Moskauer Musikschule Geige zu spielen. Im Alter von zehn Jahren setzte er seine Ausbildung an der britischen Yehudi Menuhin Schule fort und erhielt drei Jahre darauf, als erster Student der ehemaligen Sowjetunion ein Stipendium des Eton College. Ein weiteres Stipendium erhielt er für die Royal Academy of Music in London, von der er auch seinen Abschluss erhielt. Stravinskys Leidenschaft für das Dirigieren wurde bei einer Begegnung mit Mariss Janssons geweckt, dem er im Alter von 13 Jahren das Bruch-Violinkonzert vorspielte, Igor Golovchin und Thomas Sanderling unterwiesen ihn späterhin im Dirigieren. Im Sommer 1998 assistierte er Claudio Abbado bei der Einstudierung von „Don Giovanni“ für Peter Brooks Inszenierung beim Festival in Aix-en-Provence. Meisterkurse als Dirigent besuchte er bei Kenneth Kiesler und Eri Klas.

Im September 2002 wurde Stravinsky als Kapellmeister an die Moskauer Philharmonie und die Moskauer Helikon Oper verpflichtet, wo er mit Vladimir Ponkin zusammenarbeitete. Während der drei Jahre, die er an dieser Institution verbrachte, erarbeitete er sich ein stattliches Opern-Repertoire. Seine rege Konzerttätigkeit führte ihn mit zahlreichen Klangkörpern zusammen, darunter das Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (UK), Philharmonia Orchestra (UK), Moskauer Philharmoniker, Russische Nationalorchester, Nationale Sinfonieorchester Litauen, die Thüringer Symphoniker, das St. Petersburger Kammerorchester, Staatlich-Akademische Sinfonieorchester Belarus, Nationalorchester Malta, Queensland Symphony, Tokyo Opera Philharmonic Orchestra und einige weitere.

Als Chefdirigent und Künstlerischer Leiter des Karelischen Philharmonischen Orchesters setzte er sich neben 40 weiteren Bewerbern durch, und wurde somit 2007 der jüngste Dirigent, der in Russland jemals eine solche Leitungsposition bekleidet hatte. Er bliebe bei diesem Ensemble bis 2012. Im selben Jahr debütierte er am Mariisky Theater St. Petersburg, und wurde für seine Opern-Dirigate „Mawra“ und „Die Nachtigall“ von Kritikern und Publikum gefeiert. Weitere Einladungen an dieses wichtige russische Opernhaus folgten unverzüglich.

Zu seinen Einspielungen zählen die Welturaufführung eines Violinkonzerts und einer Sinfonie von Ignaz Brüll, eine der Sinfonien von Salomon Jadassohn sowie eines der Klavierkonzerte von Paul Pabst. Mit dem Karelischen Philharmonischen Orchester spielte er weitere Raritäten ein, darunter die „Thomas Blower Symphony“, Werke von Holbrook, sowie ein Klavierkonzert und „Silentium“ von Zhukov.

Auf Einladung von Vladimir Jurowski wurde Marius Stravinsky dessen Musikalischer Assistent beim London Philharmonic Orchestra (2013 – 2015). Als Ständiger Gast dirigiert er am Mikhailovsky Theater St. Petersburg, wo er zuletzt für „La Bayadère“, „Schwanensee“, „Don Quixote“, „La Fille mal gardée“, „White Darkness“ und einige weitere Inszenierungen die musikalische Leitung übernahm. Eine enge Verbindung pflegt er mit dem Staatlich-Akademischen Sinfonischen „Svetlanov“ Orchester, wo er seit seinem Debüt 2014 mehr als ein Dutzend Sinfonie-Konzerte leitete. Weitere Debüts führten ihn in der jüngeren Vergangenheit zum Slownischen Nationalorchester, zum Orchester des Hessischen Staatstheaters Wiesbaden, zur Monterey Symphony, Sinfonica di Roma. Aus seinem außerordentlich erfolgreichen Debüt beim Giuseppe Verdi Sinfonieorchester Mailand folgten Verpflichtungen bis einschließlich 2017. Weitere bemerkenswerte Höhepunkte der näheren Zukunft, der aktuellen Saison, bilden seine Debüts mit der Staatskapelle Berlin und dem Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Dem St. Petersburger Sinfonieorchester und dem Moskauer „Svetlanov“ Orchester bleibt er weiterhin treu.